Imran Khan defeats Shahbaz to become Pakistan’s new PM, to take oath tomorrow
jkupdate.com | 17-Aug-2018 06:54 AM

ISLAMABAD: Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan Friday defeated Shahbaz Sharif to become Pakistan’s next prime minister after the grand opposition alliance fell apart over the PML-N chief’s nomination for the top post.

The election in the 15th National Assembly became just a formality after the Pakistan Peoples Party-led by Bilawal Bhutto Zardari with 54 seats abstained from voting. Khan, who is the chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), received 176 votes while his only rival and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) chief Sharif got 96 votes.

Imran Khan will take the oath tomorrow. A total of 172 votes in the 342-member lower house of Parliament are needed to form a government.

Download JKUpdate APP Now: