Security beefed up ahead of first phase of polling in JK
jkupdate.com | 10-Apr-2019 08:20 PM
  • Security has been beefed up in Jammu and Kashmir ahead of polling in first phase of Lok Sabha elections.

JAMMU: State administration has made strong security arrangements for conducting smooth polls in the Baramullah constituency that will vote in the first phase of Lok Sabha elections on April 11.

A senior police official said that adequate security forces have been deployed at identified hypersensitive and sensitive polling stations.

Security checking has been intensified to provide a sense of security for the smooth conduct of polls in the first phase, extra barricades and nakas has been erected at several places and along national highway, vehicles are being checked before entering in North Kashmir districts.

As per officials records, Baramullah constituency has 13,08,541 registered voters.

Over 13 lakh voters will decide the fate of 9 contesting candidates for Baramullah Constituency that is going to poll on 11 April in the first phase of the General Elections-2019.

From the 6 constituencies of the state, during 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, BJP and Jammu & Kashmir People's Democratic Party won 3 seats each.

Meanwhile, Joint Resistance leadership (JRL) comprising Hurriyat (G) led by Syed Ali Shah Geelani, Hurriyat (M) led by Mirwaiz Muhammad Umer Farooq and Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF) has called for a complete shut down on Thursday the 11th April 2019.

In a press release, JRL said: "Tomorrow's complete shutdown (Hartal) is against the Indian parliamentary elections that are going to start from tomorrow from Baramullah parliamentary constituency."

"It is against NIA aggression, shifting of JKLF chairman Muhammad Yasin Malik to Tihar jail under the pretext of questioning by NIA," it added.

They (JRL) appealed people to stay away from upcoming parliamentary polls.

JRL said that besides a complete shutdown across the valley on 11th April, 2019, shutdowns (protest strike) will be observed on April 18, 2019, in Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal districts on April 23, 2019.

Download JKUpdate APP Now: